PDA

View Full Version : How to translate


DetlevH
10-17-2008, 07:49 AM
Where in the game can i change the language?

Shadow promised this here http://www.soldak.com/forums/showpost.php?p=5708&postcount=7

Does it makes sense to start the translation right now i should i wait for the release?

Shadow
10-17-2008, 11:18 AM
Right now there isn't a way to change the language. I believe the full game will though. Although it won't ship with anything except English.

I wouldn't translate anything quite yet. It's still in flux and I didn't even do my major localization pass until yesterday.

DetlevH
10-17-2008, 11:23 AM
Ok, but if you want to sell the game e.g. in germany you must ship it in german. Otherwise only a few will buy it (like me, of course).

Ask Vas what he thinks about that.

DetlevH
11-10-2008, 07:48 AM
Does it make sense to translate the text files in the demo or should i use the full version. I haven't bought the full version already, that's the reason for the stupid question.

Delilah Rehm
11-10-2008, 10:55 AM
The text will be the same (as the demo, not the beta), so in that regard it should be fine.

Shadow
11-10-2008, 11:02 AM
As Delilah said, the text will be the same between the demo (not the open beta) and the full game. You won't be able to test the translation with the demo though.

all_zebest
05-07-2011, 11:01 AM
I am sorry to act like a noob, but it would be VERY useful to have a tutorial or a simple list of things to do to translate de game. I was able to do so partially with Depth of Peril, but with Kivi, it took me some time till I understood how to proceed. A sticky tutorial could be used by everybody...