PDA

View Full Version : More (basic) editor questions


DaveyJJ
10-17-2008, 11:33 AM
1. How do we set up where a player starts their adventure/scenario? A "player start" point.

2. Is it possible to set up teleports to be two-way? Or if not, more than one use at least so that we could set two up to move back and forth between two separate areas?

3. What 3D formats are the models in so that we could add things like stairs, pits, etc (as teleports) or is this possible?

4. I didn't see a grass texture yet ... but have seen dirt/mud with tiny bits of grass showing through ... is there one? And/or grass/field with flowres/weeds etc? How easy will it be to add new ones?

Thanks Steven so far for a fabulous game and editor!

Shadow
10-17-2008, 01:56 PM
1. How do we set up where a player starts their adventure/scenario? A "player start" point.

The player start is one of the things that is in the adventure/level database entry. It's just a line that looks like this:

StartPosition "128.0 1032.0"

These numbers match what you can see in the lower left in the editor. I think it is labelled tile position.

2. Is it possible to set up teleports to be two-way? Or if not, more than one use at least so that we could set two up to move back and forth between two separate areas?

There aren't any 2 way teleports right now. I don't think you can do it directly right now, but I could be wrong.

You can functionally do it though, for example, by having a red teleporter go to the other area and a green teleporter coming back. We do this fairly often in the game.

Also, I believe that if you go down a level that you can reuse all of the teleporter types again.

Of course, you can always make as many new teleporters types as you want. We just use red, green, and blue for simplicity.

3. What 3D formats are the models in so that we could add things like stairs, pits, etc (as teleports) or is this possible?

It's possible, but you would need to export a model from Max (3d modeling program).

4. I didn't see a grass texture yet ... but have seen dirt/mud with tiny bits of grass showing through ... is there one? And/or grass/field with flowres/weeds etc? How easy will it be to add new ones?

We probably don't have much grass textures since everything is underground, but it should be easy to make your own. Just create a texture, make sure the width and height are both powers of two (the ones in the game are all 128x128), and save it as a tga file. The game will automatically convert it to the internal format.

DaveyJJ
11-08-2008, 06:06 PM
Where do I find this "... adventure/level database entry"?

How do I add text for the adventure and get it to be seen by the game?

EDIT ... I've found the files that are all located in the two ZIPPED archives, and am roughly working through how to get things added etc. So, my questions now become:

Seeing as we're adding at a minimum text for the adventure $$lang$$/etc/etc and a name.gdb file that points to the various .ara files for the game, how do we actually go about adding these into the provided ZIP files? Or do we? Do we create our own in in the adventures folder or what? I guess I'm asking, how do we add our own files and post for others to play items that they seemingly have to install manually into ZIP files in the correct directories?

Yes, I am confused. :)

Shadow
11-08-2008, 07:18 PM
As a modder, you wouldn't want to add anything to the zip files that shipped with the game. You would have all your separate files and then zip them up into a new zip file. If done correctly this new zip can be downloaded by others, put into the Assets directory directly, and just work.

Oh, and you don't need to add the adventure name into the localization files unless you plan on having multiple languages support.

BTW, I should be putting together an SDK sometime soon.

McMurlock
11-10-2008, 06:32 PM
Is it possible to add simple script on map ?
for example :
- teleport me in X only if PC has got specifiq item (or killed uniq monster, or ...)
- spawn monster when attacking totem (one mission of Kivi)

Thanks

Shadow
11-10-2008, 06:46 PM
There's no separate script running. However, you can do a lot with the objects.

- teleport me in X only if PC has got specifiq item (or killed uniq monster, or ...)

You can do this by putting a locked door in front of the teleporter. The locked door can be unlocked by touching some trigger in the level, finding an item, or killing a specific monster.

Doors have a field in their database definition (Database/objects.gdb) called RequiresKey that specifies the key needed to unlock them.

Triggers can specify a TriggerName, items can specify a KeyName, and monsters can specify a TriggerOnDeath that corresponds to the door's RequiresKey field.

If you don't want this to be so obvious with a locked door, you can also do the same thing with a hidden door.


- spawn monster when attacking totem (one mission of Kivi)

Basically yes. You can create a monster that has a spawn skill. This skill can spawn either any type of monster that is available in that adventure or you can specify a specific monster. You can also control how fast it spawns.

torikamal
11-10-2008, 07:57 PM
I hope I'm not a complete idiot, but...where is the editor?

torikamal
11-10-2008, 07:58 PM
I'm sorry, I just experienced an ID10T error. I'm think my server went down. Please ignore the last post.

Kruztee
11-11-2008, 01:55 AM
Well, I'd like to...but I was wondering the same thing.

For all us idiots out there - where is it?:confused:

Shadow
11-11-2008, 10:55 AM
There is a hidden button on the main menu which will pop up after you have beaten the game.

However, you can also turn on developer mode and it will appear. To do this just pop up the console with the ~ key, type in developer 1, and hit enter. You should now have an editor button in the upper right corner of the main menu screen.

Developer mode will also turn on a few more things like a timer in the game, the model editor, and better console support.

Kruztee
11-12-2008, 04:32 AM
There is a hidden button on the main menu which will pop up after you have beaten the game.

Now what was that about patience being a virtue?:o

baelthazar
11-27-2008, 06:33 PM
Hey all!

I am a huge fan of Depths and I was contemplating getting Kivi's because the demo is so simple, fun, and addictive (and DoP was so excellent, I feel Soldak needs to be rewarded twice :D).

I did want to know, just how easy is it to create levels (or adventures)? I'm not a coding wizard or anything (lord knows I had issues with NWN and trying to learn that C+ system). Is the level editor much like a sort of "painter" system of being able to build up walls, place objects (red door, opened by red level event that is pre-programmed) or is it a bit deeper? And I assume that all the editors are built in and I won't need a separate program for that?

Anyway, thanks!

Bael

Shadow
11-27-2008, 10:40 PM
The editor is built into the game and is pretty simple. You just place tiles and prebuilt objects for the most part. You can get fancier and make your own objects if you want to, but you certainly don't have to. For your example, you would just place the red door and place a red key, red trigger, or red lever somewhere on the level to open it.

torikamal
11-29-2008, 12:10 AM
Is there a way to zoom all the way out in the editor so that the max grid size is in view? My lame brain has a hard time picturing things.

torikamal
11-29-2008, 12:39 AM
Oh, and one last question. Is there an undo command? I haven't really figured out how the fill command works and, uh...ouch.

Shadow
11-29-2008, 10:09 AM
There is not an undo command so be careful.

The fill option basically takes whatever texture you currently have selected and changes the entire level to use it.

For zoom, you can zoom out as much as you want if you use the console command. For example, go to the console (~ key) and type
zoom 2.0
and you will zoom out pretty far. Just for perspective the game usually locks you to a range between 0.4 and 1.1

torikamal
12-05-2008, 01:31 AM
Is there a way to have audio hooks for NPC's? Basically I have a room where I want to have the PC click on an NPC (just like when rescuing), then have the NPC just say the line as well as text it.

Also, is there a way to make them stay instead of disappear once they are clicked on (the NPC's?)

Thank you.

torikamal
12-08-2008, 12:01 AM
Is it possible to change the zoom range permanently in a config file somewhere?

Maybe set it so that it will always be able to zoom (with the scroll button) out to like 2.5 or 3.0?

Shadow
12-08-2008, 02:57 PM
Is there a way to have audio hooks for NPC's? Basically I have a room where I want to have the PC click on an NPC (just like when rescuing), then have the NPC just say the line as well as text it.

Also, is there a way to make them stay instead of disappear once they are clicked on (the NPC's?)

There might be ways to do this, but I will have to look into it.

Is it possible to change the zoom range permanently in a config file somewhere?

Maybe set it so that it will always be able to zoom (with the scroll button) out to like 2.5 or 3.0?

Yes, you can. Open up your user.cfg file and change zoomMax to whatever value you want. I believe it defaults to 1.1.

torikamal
12-08-2008, 10:19 PM
Thank you!

Shadow
12-11-2008, 12:00 PM
Right now it doesn't look like there really is a way to do an NPC with voice. This is mostly a UI problem though. I'll look into adding some more support for this in our next patch.

torikamal
12-16-2008, 05:58 PM
OK, so my little level is about 3/4 of the way done. I made some music for the level that I'd like to play. I looked into the adv01.lsb and wasn't sure quite what to do.

I'd like the music to play as the overall piece, but still get overtaken by the combat music when combat ensues and return to the level music when combat is over. (I'm pretty sure that's how it works for regular levels anyway).

Or at the very least, just to play the music I wrote. It's about 4 minutes long and should loop seamlessly.

Thanks!

Shadow
12-17-2008, 09:52 AM
For adventure music, you want to add a line like this:
MusicName Music/lumen.ogg
in the adventure gdb file in the adventures entry. Tutorial.gdb is a good example of this.