PDA

View Full Version : How to translate


DetlevH
11-10-2008, 03:15 PM
Just bought it....

How can i translate it? Same way as Depths of Peril?

How can i switch the game language?

Shadow
11-10-2008, 04:29 PM
It's mostly the same as DoP was except now the stories directory is in Loc/English.

Once you have multiple directories in the Loc directory, it will give you a choice of which language to use in the upper left corner of the main menu screen.

You should also be able to change the loc_language user var from the console when you are in the game. For example, typing
loc_language English
in the console and hitting enter would change the language to English.

DetlevH
11-11-2008, 08:00 AM
It seems not to work.

I just duplicated the English folder and renamed it to german.

Please copy the attached zip file to the assets folder and try it out.

Seems, there is something wrong here........:confused:

After that i deleted the mod_german.zip file and after the restart of Kivi the console shows this error messages (see attached screenshot) and many text is missing:mad:

What's wrong here?

Shadow
11-11-2008, 11:07 AM
Ok, the localization stuff seems to work fine, but the choose language box isn't working with the zip files. It is adding a trailing / to the language names so it isn't changing the language correctly. I will fix this in the first patch.

Setting the language using the console works fine though. At the console use the following commands (depending on which language you want to set of course):
loc_language English
loc_language german

DetlevH
11-11-2008, 11:17 AM
During playing i get more and more of these error messages in the console (see email before).

Now my game seems to be totally destroyed, even with the deleted mod_german.zip.

I can't use the keyboard anymore.....

Shadow
11-11-2008, 11:40 AM
If you can't change loc_language back to English in the console, just open up User/user.cfg and change it in there. Everything should be back to normal then.

DetlevH
11-12-2008, 02:23 AM
Yes, that's true. It works now.

Thanks!

DetlevH
11-12-2008, 06:27 AM
AdventureEpilog4 in global.trn has a trailing s for the Plural.

That's wrong for german.

Shadow
11-12-2008, 11:52 AM
The s is in the text and not the code part so you can safely take that out for the German translation.

DetlevH
11-12-2008, 02:06 PM
Shadow, before you release the first patch, please check if every screen text is in the text files under the Loc\[language] folder.:)

I translated

OneLifeLeft "1 Leben übrig"
XLivesLeft "##1## Leben übrig"

in global.trn but it's still english on the screen.:confused:

Shadow
11-12-2008, 04:14 PM
I thought I had done that already. Apparently, I missed a few though.

Shadow
11-17-2008, 02:08 PM
I translated

OneLifeLeft "1 Leben übrig"
XLivesLeft "##1## Leben übrig"

in global.trn but it's still english on the screen.:confused:

Are you sure about this? It works fine for me if I change these two lines. You will only see these get printed right after you press the resurrect button btw.

DetlevH
11-17-2008, 02:21 PM
Yes, you have 2 times the text in global.trn with almost the same content.

OneLifeLeft "1 Leben übrig"
XLivesLeft "##1## Leben übrig"

and

LivesLeft "Leben übrig"

Sorry!

But, let's see if i can find other examples, that not everything is in the translation text files.;);)

Shadow
11-17-2008, 02:43 PM
I have fixed the trailing / issue with the language selection box. It will work correctly in version 1.001.

gosthrider
12-02-2008, 03:56 PM
Hi there,

I've got a couple of questions concerning the translation:

As far as I look in the files inside the "Loc" folder, there is no way to change the objects name (not the items, the objects like barrels, levers, etc...) Where do we change that?

I've manage to translate global.trn, items.trn and quests.trn but in game all the "french" type are missing. So I did correct the keyNames.loc and .map files but it doesn't change anything. Is that a font issue? or maybe I've done things wrong.

Anyway I still have the "stories" folder to work on... That should keep me busy for a long time ! :D

Shadow
12-02-2008, 05:13 PM
Object names are in global.trn somewhere.

None of the French words show up or just the French characters that aren't in English?

gosthrider
12-03-2008, 01:43 AM
Object names are in global.trn somewhere.

:p Okaaaaay ! it's just that I've finish the adventure epilog and I haven't see what was next

None of the French words show up or just the French characters that aren't in English?

Just the french characters like ç é è ù ' â ê

Shadow
12-03-2008, 09:05 AM
Just the french characters like ç é è ù ' â ê

That's strange. I copied and pasted all of those characters directly from your post into global.trn into the copyright line (just because it's on the first menu) and it worked fine. Can you send me one of the files that you have partially translated that doesn't work?

gosthrider
12-03-2008, 01:50 PM
Ok, I did the same at home, just copying & paste in the copyright line...

http://img409.imageshack.us/img409/4277/image1xl6.png (http://imageshack.us)
http://img409.imageshack.us/img409/image1xl6.png/1/w773.png (http://g.imageshack.us/img409/image1xl6.png/1/)

Strange ! :confused:

Could it be a Mac keyboard mapping issue?

gosthrider
12-03-2008, 02:27 PM
Oups, forgot the file :rolleyes:

here is the french "items.trn"

Shadow
12-03-2008, 02:43 PM
Ah, ok. I think I'm starting to understand the problem. It looks like the Mac encodes the characters differently than Windows does. When I look at your file I see a ton of those weird Z characters that also shows up in your screenshot.

Is there a way on a Mac to tell it to use Windows encoding or Windows character page or whatever it's called?

gosthrider
12-03-2008, 05:11 PM
Good !

I think you manage to figured out the problem !!!
I modified one of the translate file, and choose the "save as" option and I've seen that I've got dozen of differents encoding possibilities... :eek:

So I found the right one and now it works !!!! :D

Thanks you so much for the support, I'm really happy to see my translate works displayed correctly !
Thanks again, and I hope to finish the job quickly so that I can post my french translate on the forum.

DetlevH
12-18-2008, 07:43 AM
I can't translate some words, because i can't find them in the translation files.

Please see attached pictures:

ss0005.jpg: The word "Awards"
ss0006.jpg: The word "Door"
ss0007.jpg: The word "second" in the description of the powerup
ss0010.jpg: the word "Health" in the upper left corner
ss0011.jpg: the word "open" in the lower right corner

Shadow, please check.

DetlevH
12-18-2008, 07:44 AM
I can't translate some words, because i can't find them in the translation files.

Please see attached pictures:

ss0012.jpg: the words "Left click to increase" in the popup window

Shadow, please check.

DetlevH
01-07-2009, 01:42 PM
In the quest screen is the text

Reward: 100 score

How can i translate this? Where can i find it?

DetlevH
01-08-2009, 01:38 PM
Where can i find the text (see attachment) for translation?

Shadow
01-08-2009, 02:08 PM
In the quest screen is the text

Reward: 100 score

How can i translate this? Where can i find it?

Sigh, it's correctly localized in the code, but doesn't show up in the translation files anywhere. This will be fixed in 1.002.

In the meantime you should be able to add these 2 lines to the bottom of quests.trn to get it working correctly:

Reward "Reward"
Score "Score"

Shadow
01-08-2009, 02:10 PM
That rescue text can be found at Loc\English\Stories\Classes\rescueWizard.txt

Other rescue texts are in that directory also.

DetlevH
01-08-2009, 02:50 PM
Thank you, Shadow!

Shadow
02-12-2009, 11:22 AM
I'm pretty sure all of the localization issues mention so far are fixed in version 1.002.

sheilykidman
02-03-2010, 08:27 AM
This was helpful .. good work guyz.

all_zebest
06-09-2011, 08:15 AM
Excuse-me, but what is a recon totem ?

Shadow
06-09-2011, 10:53 AM
Excuse-me, but what is a recon totem ?

Recon is short for reconnaissance as in going out and getting info on the enemy.

all_zebest
06-09-2011, 10:59 AM
Thank you ! I am now done with the classes !