PDA

View Full Version : Trap Panic in Hardcore

Stormrend
11-29-2008, 11:10 AM
Hello, All. I'm relatively new to DoP - been playing fairly non-stop for the 2 weeks since I found it.

I've always been drawn to the excitement of hardcore play and have started my first HC char (Lvl 7 Rogue). HOWEVER, I made the mistake of reading up on the insta-death delt by traps, especially the infamous purple (magic?) trap of grab-your-boots-&-kiss-your-greaves-goodbye! Now I'm afraid to open any containers or move beyond a zombie's pace.

* I read one post about putting 2.75 - 3.75 (something like that) points into vitality per character level. I'd love to have your feedback as to whether that is necessary/sufficient, especially against the GYB&KYGG purple traps.

* I can avoid opening any containers if that's what it comes down to, but can't seem to outrun the ground-planted traps consistently. Do the GYB&KYGG purple variety come a la dirt as well?

THANKS for any help!

Delilah Rehm
11-29-2008, 11:36 AM
I don't think I've died from a trap. My biggest problem playing hardcore seems to be going underground and getting trapped by monsters. Or getting trapped by Ciglio's risen horde, trapped and unable to get to my teleport stone.

Carrying an emergancy health potion helps, and for back up bring food.

... Wait a minute! I did die from poison once, while I was healing at my lifestone! :eek: Don't stand in poison for long, because that stuff stacks.

Kruztee
11-30-2008, 04:42 AM
Yeah, I used to die a lot to those purple magic traps, and less often to the fire nova ones. I believe that both are found as ground traps as well as on containers.