PDA

View Full Version : Do you think DC would play on a netbook?


viper34j
03-11-2010, 05:19 PM
I just ordered a Dell Mini10 and I was wondering whether anyone has tried running DC, or any other Soldak games, on a netbook. Do they run at all? Do they run quick enough to be playable?

Kruztee
03-11-2010, 05:23 PM
Post the specs.

viper34j
03-11-2010, 05:49 PM
1GB3 DDR2 SDRAM4
Intel® NM10 Express
High Definition Audio 2.0
Intel® Atom® Processor N450 (1.66GHz, 512K L2 Cache)

Does DC have a software graphics mode?

Archon
03-11-2010, 06:02 PM
Hello Viper. Not sure although if your gfx card / on board in the netbook can support modest 3d acceleration I think you have a good shot. I was reading the Torchlight forums and some people claimed they could run TL on their netbooks. I can run Din's Curse at 1920x1200 with my Dell Inspiron E1705 purchased a couple years back and I only have a ATI mobility x1400 and I can hardly run any game at that resolution besides Din's with my setup. I think Din's should easily run on your netbook at least at 1024x768 or 1280x720 / 768 modes.

Kruztee
03-11-2010, 06:18 PM
Yep, the only problem I forsee there is with the display adaptor (not mentioned). Anyway, Soldak doesn't have a problem with installing Din's Curse on multiple computers that you own, you're even free to play LAN MP with the same licence! (check the EULA for exact wording). Test it out and get back to us.

I used to take DoP away with me on trips on an old P4 2.4Ghz laptop with just 512Mb of system RAM and onboard graphics. A little choppy, but ran well enough to enjoy at 1024x768. I'm sure that there have been code optimisations since then because from memory Kivi's ran a lot smoother than DoP on the same setup. Hopefully, Din's will be even better for you.

Shadow
03-12-2010, 10:51 AM
In general our games are a bit rough on the cpu, but fairly nice to the graphics card. Since netbooks usually have more cpu than gpu, it might be possible. If you do try it, tell us how well it works.

viper34j
03-12-2010, 11:01 AM
I'll definitely let you know. The netbook should come in either this Saturday, or Monday.

Kreb
03-12-2010, 11:04 AM
For what it's worth, Din's runs perfectly well on a Macbook Air, which while it has better specs than a Netbook, is still fairly far behind a full-fledged desktop computer.

viper34j
03-16-2010, 11:04 PM
Just got my Dell Mini 10 in. So far it looks like running the game with all settings on low I'm only getting about 5-10 fps. This is still playable, but it hurts.

Shadow, any tips for squeezing a bit more from the game? An ini setting or something? I'm going to try to tweak some stuff to see if I can get a few more frames myself.

Shadow
03-17-2010, 09:49 AM
Some things you can try (some of which you probably already have): turn off better lighting, turn off shadows, play in the lowest resolution, turn off the minimap, and zoom in as much as can and still play.

You could also play with the r_modelDetail and r_effectsDetail values in the console or cfg files. The UI will only let you get them so low. For both of them 0.0 is no detail and 1.0 is full detail.

viper34j
03-17-2010, 11:24 AM
Ok, I'll try some of that when I get home. All I did for my initial test was going into the graphics settings and set the resolution to 1024x600 (netbook default) and press the "Best Performance" button.

viper34j
03-18-2010, 07:28 PM
After changing those ini settings to 0.0 that you sugguest I am getting a mostly playable 12-15fps. Not bad for a crappy netbook.

Do you think there is anything else than can be done to improve netbook performance?

Shadow
03-19-2010, 11:18 AM
If it is still on, you can turn off detail models. There's nothing else that I can think of that would help that you haven't already done.

CautiousChaos
05-17-2010, 01:27 AM
What a pity. I've got a Dell Mini 1012 with 1.6ghz and 2m ram. It's really stuttery - doesn't make a difference if I'm running at the best quality or fastest play settings. But it's real choppy. Mostly to the point where it's frustrating to play.

I've been doing most of my stuff on the netbook. I'd purchase in an instant, but I don't often want to pull out the big laptop or desktop for gaming anymore.

-cc

PixelLord
08-28-2010, 09:51 PM
What a pity. I've got a Dell Mini 1012 with 1.6ghz and 2m ram. It's really stuttery - doesn't make a difference if I'm running at the best quality or fastest play settings. But it's real choppy. Mostly to the point where it's frustrating to play.

I've been doing most of my stuff on the netbook. I'd purchase in an instant, but I don't often want to pull out the big laptop or desktop for gaming anymore.

-cc

That's too bad. I assume you're playing fullscreen with all your inventory windows closed?

frank911
03-02-2011, 04:41 AM
i was facing the same problems but the settings have helped alot.

Crisses
03-02-2011, 07:29 AM
If it is still on, you can turn off detail models. There's nothing else that I can think of that would help that you haven't already done.

Just a cross-forum note: I think someone noted a bug (or rather a lack of bugs....) on the "Stamp out the infestation" quest with details off....and it's a required quest.