PDA

View Full Version : Din beta patch 0.911


Shadow
03-25-2010, 02:21 PM
Beta patch 0.911 of Din's Curse is now available over on the Din's Curse patch page (http://www.soldak.com/Dins-Curse/Patches.html). Changes can be read here (http://www.soldak.com/Dins-Curse/Patches/Changes.html).

Viliki
03-25-2010, 06:44 PM
The Mac patch doesn't work very well. After to have run it and played I noticed the version hadn't changed and see that the Mac patch installed stuff in the Application folder, except that it's not where I had installed Din.

Well I suppose a manual patch from those files installed will work fine.

udm
03-25-2010, 10:10 PM
Thanks Steven! Gonna try this later, hopefully this fixes my main character which atm I can't play because game crashes when creating new town.

Shadow
03-26-2010, 09:52 AM
The Mac patch doesn't work very well. After to have run it and played I noticed the version hadn't changed and see that the Mac patch installed stuff in the Application folder, except that it's not where I had installed Din.

Well I suppose a manual patch from those files installed will work fine.

The patches aren't smart enough to locate where you installed the game. In the Windows and Mac patch installers, you can change the directory where it is installed though. Manually moving the installed files will also work fine.

GeorgiaBoy
03-26-2010, 06:07 PM
I bring Landers from Carniverous Caverns Lvl 1 through the back to town portal. The steward, who gave me the quest, will now not acknowledge the completion of the quest.

Also, if this has not been reported, Landers will not use the teleportal, just the 'back to town' entrance.

GB

Cadfan
03-26-2010, 06:12 PM
I'm pretty sure that escorted npcs will not use portals. You have to walk them to their destination. Double check your escort quest and make sure you weren't supposed to escort him to a particular level of the dungeon? That's the usual way of things.

transigent8
03-26-2010, 06:51 PM
I just noticed a map bug where town portal gates were being overwritten by unknown gates. In other words, the location of the gate is erroneously shifted to an unknown gate location on the map screen. Not a problem if you remember where it was but if you forgot...

Cadfan
03-27-2010, 02:18 AM
I'm not 100% certain that the missing named monster bug isn't still a problem. I've got two characters stuck on towns that don't seem to have monsters I'm supposed to be killing.

udm
03-27-2010, 02:21 AM
It also took me a while to find the Dimensional Gates I needed to kill. Killing creatures needed for quest still takes longer than it should because of the need to wait for them to spawn.

Cadfan
03-27-2010, 05:26 AM
Are regeneration obelisks scaling correctly? You get about 300 hit points regardless of level. This is very nice at level 5, but not so good at level 70.

Shadow
03-27-2010, 10:21 AM
I'm not 100% certain that the missing named monster bug isn't still a problem. I've got two characters stuck on towns that don't seem to have monsters I'm supposed to be killing.

If you are still having problems, post a save game please. I have fixed another issue since this patch and know of 2 rare cases that causes issues. So it could be one of those or something new.

Aet
03-27-2010, 12:12 PM
Just had the game crash on me after firing off a few exploding arrows into a room full of naga and barrels (chests are possible too, couldn't see everything in there).

It might also just be a case of bad luck, but I bought five or so different items from two gamblers that came into town, and none of the results were magical/enhanced - just plain default gear.

edit - sent crash log via email
edit again - was indeed just luck, after a few more tries I did get several magical items, along with a discernibly different kind of 'chink' noise as they were added to my inventory.

FloodSpectre
03-27-2010, 12:39 PM
Are regeneration obelisks scaling correctly? You get about 300 hit points regardless of level. This is very nice at level 5, but not so good at level 70.

This is a problem with Holy Shield Obelisks too. I'm pretty sure they only absorb 250 points of damage or so, which is pretty weak later in the game.

FloodSpectre
03-28-2010, 12:37 PM
If you choose to decline a quest in your quest log, the background fade is in 4:3 on widescreen still.

TheRani
03-28-2010, 03:33 PM
I don't think the teleport stone is resetting properly. When you use it, and then you complete your town and immediately start on a new town without exiting the game, the stone still shows as having been used. When I then saved and exited the game, and then started up the same character in the same town, the stone was available again.

udm
03-28-2010, 03:59 PM
Yup I just noticed this too.

FloodSpectre
03-28-2010, 06:12 PM
I found a second Medallion of Clavros today, and both versions are Artifacts. They both have the exact same four effects. I'm wondering if they're having the same issue that the different versions of Lightning had before.

Archon
03-28-2010, 06:43 PM
Dins Curse .911

I found a bug where I was about to accept a new quest from a NPC in town and just before I clicked accept some quest changed in the world that may have effected this particular NPC's set of quests and afterward was unable to use the mouse and had to exit the game bringing up the console and typing quit in the box.

tkirby2003
03-28-2010, 08:32 PM
I'm not 100% certain that the missing named monster bug isn't still a problem. I've got two characters stuck on towns that don't seem to have monsters I'm supposed to be killing.

I had the same problem today. On the third trip to the level the named monster was finally there.

tkirby2003
03-29-2010, 12:12 AM
I also had a quest to gather I believe it was blind shrimp on a level. While doing that I had to rescue one town person who was also looking for the shrimp. When I got that message about 5 more people ended up needing rescuing at the same time. After saving them they immediately joined the person who had earlier went renegade. One of them ended up attacking me the rest just vanished.

udm
03-30-2010, 08:21 AM
Boss (Tegus) doesn't spawn, even though I believe I have scoured the whole dungeon. I have attached my save game here.

Shadow
03-30-2010, 09:59 AM
Boss (Tegus) doesn't spawn, even though I believe I have scoured the whole dungeon. I have attached my save game here.

At least for me, Tegus does spawn but he is in a secret area which is very close to where your character was when I started.

udm
03-30-2010, 10:35 AM
Ah. I'll try it again then get back to you.

-edit-

You're right, I just found the secret entrance. My bad :(