PDA

View Full Version : Not the tiny ship again....


Excalibur Bane
02-28-2013, 01:16 PM
Well, I just hit Level 41, and pumped a few more points into command, as I wanted to unlock another slot. Lo and behold, my ship goes from being fairly big to very tiny again. To say I was disappointed would be putting it mildly, I expected my ship to get bigger, not smaller. What's the deal with this? Do I have to go all the way through the same hulls again, just "medium" variety now? :(

Please include more hulls in the expansion to fill in the gaps, instead of just reusing the old ones.

Hell, I'd pay for it in a DLC format for that matter.

Anyone else share my opinion?

Tyrax Lightning
02-28-2013, 05:48 PM
Well, I just hit Level 41, and pumped a few more points into command, as I wanted to unlock another slot. Lo and behold, my ship goes from being fairly big to very tiny again. To say I was disappointed would be putting it mildly, I expected my ship to get bigger, not smaller. What's the deal with this? Do I have to go all the way through the same hulls again, just "medium" variety now? :(

Please include more hulls in the expansion to fill in the gaps, instead of just reusing the old ones.

Hell, I'd pay for it in a DLC format for that matter.

Anyone else share my opinion?
Yeah, I dunno why this would make sense, but I don't dare tamper with it, since I got my Command on my Main Ship to the exact level for the Medium Titan & have decided to make it my Final Ship for it... I'd hate to Update my Patch & suddenly have a Frigate or some other stupid ship like that instead... :(

I think Mods for dealing with this kinda Issue are being planned to be made, so we can have Command affect the Ship Weight, & other relevant Attributes, yet let us CHOOSE the actual Ship Model that is used. :) (I've personally suggested having Command Unlock as it does now, & then let ya Select the Ship Model outta what's already unlocked freely anytime ya want while the Command Stats themselves are unaffected & remain the same... for example, if ya go from Light Flagship to Medium Escort, but ya liked the Flagship Model, ya could freely select the Light Flagship Model & have it being what's used, while the Command Stats themselves, including the Weight, are still that of the Medium Escort.)

Shadow
02-28-2013, 06:48 PM
I would love to have a unique ship for each hull, but that's 200 more ships.

Tyrax Lightning
02-28-2013, 07:23 PM
I would love to have a unique ship for each hull, but that's 200 more ships.
& names. :p

It's the Stats that affect Gameplay... The Hull should be freely choosable outta what's unlocked. :)

♥Drakk Medium Titan♥ ^_^

ScrObot
02-28-2013, 09:37 PM
Alternately you could only change the ship model every 3 levels instead, but that might be a little too stale for people who don't play to the level cap...

PixelLord
02-28-2013, 11:11 PM
Alternately you could only change the ship model every 3 levels instead, but that might be a little too stale for people who don't play to the level cap...

Exactly! We thought about doing that, but didn't for that reason. Even a color change for the model skin might have worked though if the model had stayed the same mesh for 3 levels. ...might have been better that way. (Shrug)

Arcatus
03-01-2013, 08:22 AM
Or - as in most marial arts has some variety of this:

One white belt, two yellow, .... , many black.

Shadow
03-01-2013, 09:25 AM
I thought about varying up the texture each time instead of going through the hulls again, but then your model wouldn't change very often (at best 10 models spread across 100 levels). Also 200 new ship textures would add almost 70MB to the game size, which in our case is about a 45% increase in size.

Excalibur Bane
03-01-2013, 10:46 AM
Maybe it's just me, but I say add the new 200 models, package it up as a DLC and charge 4.99 for it. Might as well make some money on the improvement. :D

Valgor
03-01-2013, 10:56 AM
I thought about varying up the texture each time instead of going through the hulls again, but then your model wouldn't change very often (at best 10 models spread across 100 levels).

How about changing the size as well and adding a few more navigation lights? Wouldn't that do the trick?

PixelLord
03-01-2013, 12:15 PM
How about changing the size as well and adding a few more navigation lights? Wouldn't that do the trick?

Actually I like this idea. A slightly larger ship and a few more and different arrangement of lights might work quite well. But... some wouldn't like that either.

Tyrax Lightning
03-01-2013, 04:01 PM
Frankly, it might be too late to change how the Ships work... thus why I suggested simply letting people choose the Model to use freely outta the ones unlocked, while the Model & the Stats of the Ship are separated from each other. ;) (Meaning the Command Boosts power up the Stats, & Unlock available Models, but don't force what Model is currently used to be only the latest one unlocked, thus people get their cake & eat it too! Don't like the looks of that Medium Frigate ya just got? Stick with the Light Titan Model, or some such! :D )

Excalibur Bane
03-01-2013, 04:28 PM
I dunno, anything is better then the current setup. I just want to feel bad ass in a big ship, like an elite agent. :)

Valgor
03-01-2013, 04:45 PM
Actually I like this idea. A slightly larger ship and a few more and different arrangement of lights might work quite well.

Flying around with one of those swirly red beacons that usually indicate a Legendary monster ship would be quite awesome in my book.

Shadow
03-01-2013, 05:26 PM
I increased the size of the models when you go through the 2nd and 3rd time today. It probably needs some tweaking, but it's a start.

Cardinal Ape
03-06-2013, 06:52 PM
In my opinion I would rather see the ship model upgrade happen in a more linear fashion rather than the current loop. For example one would go through all three types (light, medium, then heavy) of the same model before moving onto the next one.

I also kinda feel that the third go-around of ships is unneeded. Once you get to about 220 points in command you should just stay as the biggest ship for the rest of the game. I really don't see many players spending more than 220 points in command, not enough to justify unique models for those ships.

This is how I would like it:

0 - Light Escort
5 - Heavy Escort
11 - Light Corvette
18 - Heavy Corvette
26 - Light Frigate
35 - Heavy Frigate
45 - Light Destroyer
56 - Heavy Destroyer
68 - Light Cruiser
81 - Heavy Cruiser
95 - Light Battlecrusier
110 - Heavy Battlecruiser
126 - Light Battleship
143 - Heavy Battleship
161 - Light Dreadnaught
180 - Heavy Dreadnaught
200 - Titan
220 - Flagship

VortiK
03-08-2013, 02:27 PM
In my opinion I would rather see the ship model upgrade happen in a more linear fashion rather than the current loop. For example one would go through all three types (light, medium, then heavy) of the same model before moving onto the next one.

I also kinda feel that the third go-around of ships is unneeded. Once you get to about 220 points in command you should just stay as the biggest ship for the rest of the game. I really don't see many players spending more than 220 points in command, not enough to justify unique models for those ships.

This is how I would like it:

0 - Light Escort
5 - Heavy Escort
11 - Light Corvette
18 - Heavy Corvette
26 - Light Frigate
35 - Heavy Frigate
45 - Light Destroyer
56 - Heavy Destroyer
68 - Light Cruiser
81 - Heavy Cruiser
95 - Light Battlecrusier
110 - Heavy Battlecruiser
126 - Light Battleship
143 - Heavy Battleship
161 - Light Dreadnaught
180 - Heavy Dreadnaught
200 - Titan
220 - Flagship

This seems balanced, I actually feel not spending enought time in a hull to fully enjoy it before going the next one

Excalibur Bane
03-08-2013, 03:10 PM
Yeah, that's the best idea yet.

Tyrax Lightning
03-08-2013, 03:27 PM
If this idea gets implemented, I hope we are gonna get to Respec our Crew Points so we can stick the correct amount of Points into the new working of Command Stat to get the Ship we want... If my Main loses out on his Medium Titan & doesn't get to be a Titan anymore ever again, I am going to be VERY unhappy... :(

My shamelessly biased opinion says that the Drakk Titan is the most awesome Drakk Ship Model of them all! :D

With this said, i'm using the 8 Crew Points per Level Mod, & for those that still aren't, I can't make any sense outta how ANYONE was ever supposed to ever get all 460 Points in Command for the Final Ship & EVER have enough points afterwards to work with for other Stats EVEN with help from the +Stat Medium Slot Components & Crew Members together... :confused: I have to admit that 220 Command as a Max amount of Command possible does look like a far more reasonable number... or maybe it could be worked around to 250 so 250 is the Max Base Stat for ALL Stats...? Even with this, I would still be all for combining this with the 8 Crew Points per Level Up Mod becoming Vanilla, because 5 Crew Points per Level is too freaking few Points no matter what, especially when you seriously CAN'T get away with neglected Engineering Stat without serious Power Load problems no matter what... :eek:

Edit: Hey! I just gotta idea for how to go about this:

The Update that adds this could create a Pocket Dimension that is placed a little to the lower left of the Bound Jump Gate with it's Ship Stash & Shared Stash, that has it's Pocket Dimension Entrance Graphics Color colored differently from the normal one, like perhaps Red, that we can enter. Inside is a completely Enemy-Free Zone with a special Container specifically for Holding all of our Equipped Components & Crew Members... (With a holding capacity of 33) we would store ALL Components inside it, then we could click a 'Drox Shipyard' when ready that would make our Ship disappear for a moment while a 'Searching Bar' like bar activates showing up the progress of the Ship Conversion to the new System while playing the Sound Effect ya hear when Mining a Mineable Asteroid, then when done, our Ship reappears as the first Model of the Race in the game & ALL of our currently acquired Crew Points are refunded & can then be re-spent to Respec our Ship to the new System! When done, we can then grab our Components & Crew outta the Container & Re-Equip them, get Organized, & then Exit the Pocket Dimension ready to resume the Game under the new Stat System! (& if warranted, maybe nip into our Ship/Shared Stash to grab & equip stuff that can be Equipped now that couldn't before.)