PDA

View Full Version : Question: removing borders from 'show items on ground' labels


wolis
08-17-2010, 07:26 AM
Hi guys,

I have looked in the SDK doco under ui.txt but cant see how any of that applies to the 'Show items on ground' labels.

Id like to remove the borders so they are less obtrusive.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Shadow
08-17-2010, 03:37 PM
Right now you can't do that.

wolis
08-17-2010, 07:41 PM
Right now you can't do that.

Thats a pitty.. I like the sound of 'right now' as it implies it may be possible in the future.

I prefer a clean, clear minimalist appearance so fancy boarder are often the first thing I want to turn off. It was the first thing I modded away in http://a-astra.com/ (cool little elite-like game that)

heron
08-23-2010, 07:29 PM
Like so?

http://img842.imageshack.us/img842/4981/dcnoborder.th.jpg (http://img842.imageshack.us/i/dcnoborder.jpg/)

wolis
08-23-2010, 08:11 PM
Like so?


Yes, like so.

How did you achieve the impossible? (please I hope you dont say Photoshop)

heron
08-23-2010, 08:39 PM
Yes, like so.

How did you achieve the impossible? (please I hope you dont say Photoshop)

Those frames can be replaced by swapping in alpha maps in tgas.

I am still learning the ins and outs of modding this game but it looks fairly simple.

Shadow
08-24-2010, 10:01 AM
Ha, never listen to a developer when they say it's not possible. :)

It might be hard coded to draw, but I didn't think about just making it basically invisible like heron did.