PDA

View Full Version : How do ya actually do the Modding in this game...?

Tyrax Lightning
04-14-2013, 02:52 PM
I'm new to Modding, but have given it a try before... (Including in Terraria.) I need help figuring out how to even start going about Modding, including if I need any help from any External Programs... if possible, in a 'For Dummies' Format.

Or, if there's already Modding Documentation I dunno about, a point to it might help, taking into account that i've found & looked in the Din's Curse SDK, but couldn't think of any way it'll help me learn how to Mod.

Many thanks for your time... :o

Edit: P.S. The Modding Forums could use a Beginner's Tutorial on getting into Modding...

radioonfire
04-15-2013, 01:43 AM
I'm new to Modding, but have given it a try before... (Including in Terraria.) I need help figuring out how to even start going about Modding, including if I need any help from any External Programs... if possible, in a 'For Dummies' Format.

Or, if there's already Modding Documentation I dunno about, a point to it might help, taking into account that i've found & looked in the Din's Curse SDK, but couldn't think of any way it'll help me learn how to Mod.

Many thanks for your time... :o

Edit: P.S. The Modding Forums could use a Beginner's Tutorial on getting into Modding...
There doesn't seem to be much documentation at all. The best thing about the Din's Curse SDK is the documentation on menus. Here are a few tips I've found for getting started.

Create a folder someplace away from your program files and extract the asset files there for reference. These are the .zip files in the Assets directory of the DO program directory, and they contain everything you can mod.
Almost all of the files can be opened by a text editor (including .gdb, .eff, .mdl, .trn and some more), so get Notepad++ or a different decent text editor.