PDA

View Full Version : Mac guy, new to DC, and having difficulties modding


billiam
10-11-2010, 04:10 PM
Not sure what's wrong. I used to mod DOP on my mac, a few years back. But I've run into probs with DC.

I tried unzipping assets003, moving the old file to desktop, making an archive--rezipping--assets003 and putting it back in my assets folder, and made no other changes. No dice! It won't run at all.

I'm not sure if the unzipping or the rezipping is changing something. Any help advice or insight from mac modders would be much appreciated.

billiam
10-11-2010, 04:40 PM
I copied assets003, put it in the assets folder, and it worked fine. But once I unarchived-- boom!-- it wouldn't open. So I know it has to be the unzipping or archiving that is causing the problem.

Shadow
10-11-2010, 06:48 PM
Make sure you are zipping up the subdirectories directly (like Database, Loc, Models, etc.) and aren't including an extra level of directories (like assets003).

That's usually what catches people.

billiam
10-11-2010, 08:30 PM
So I have to go in all the sub directories and zip them and then zip the entire assets003?

I don't think I included an extra level of directory, as I moved the original to the desktop, if that's what you mean.

I did a crappy fix, unzipped , and using a folder "directory" to raise the points per level fron 5 to 50 and the skills to 12 per level. It works, but I know it's not ideal.

Shadow
10-12-2010, 10:30 AM
You don't have to do each separately. When I do it (in Windows at least), I highlight all of the subdirectories and compress them at the same time into 1 zip file.