PDA

View Full Version : New dungeon question


Zambaku
07-23-2014, 01:12 PM
I just made my first new dungeon. I just loaded up the cave area and replaced the stalagmites with town boxes and saved it as a new area named dungeonStorage.ara

My question is: Do I need to do any coding anywhere or will the game find it and use it on it's own?

Shadow
07-23-2014, 02:43 PM
Yes, it will need a level definition and be added to a section. Search for AreaCaveDireRealm in Database/world.gdb and you should get the idea.

Zambaku
07-23-2014, 03:42 PM
Hm, sorry if I'm ignorant for asking, but how do I get access too AreaCaveDireRealm? I can't see too figure out how to open up world.gdb in the editor.

Zambaku
07-23-2014, 04:00 PM
Nevermind, figured out that GDB files could be opened in a text document, haha. Silly me. I think I did the correct thing now.

I added these lines in the world.GDB:
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage

AreaDungeonStorage
{
Base BaseAreaCave

Name $$Dungeon Storage$$

AreaFileName Levels/dungeonStorage.ara
SoundFileName Levels/caveDireRealm.lsb

QuestItemName $$HellbenderEye$$

TextFile Stories/Zones/DireRealm.txt

DesiredMonsterSpawn ArchetypeDarkElfWarrior
DesiredMonsterSpawn ArchetypeDarkElfAssassin
DesiredMonsterSpawn ArchetypeDarkElfDarkPriest
DesiredMonsterSpawn ArchetypeDarkElfWizard

AmbientCreatureChance 0.0

// doprock, no deadends, more curves, wider hallways, less straight/X hallways, curvy in general
// secret - on curved hallways, double secrets
// details - torches
}


Is there anything else I must fix?

Shadow
07-23-2014, 05:48 PM
Off hand that looks about right and should be all you need.

Shadow
07-23-2014, 05:50 PM
BTW, assuming the Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage line is in the correct place (with all of the rest of them), you could probably repeat that line a bunch of times to temporarily increase the chances of your dungeon spawning.

Zambaku
07-23-2014, 06:13 PM
Okay! Many thanks for helping me with this one =)

Zambaku
07-23-2014, 07:56 PM
Hm, I can't get the new area to show up ingame. I made a new world about 50 times and I never got it. I must've done something wrong.

I put the levels in the assets01.zip/Levels and the world in assets01/Database

This is how I setup my world.GDB:

World1Section
{
Base BaseSection

LockedSize 1
Depth 1

// StartArea TownLevel1

Area TownLevel1
Area TownLevel2
Area TownLevel3
Area TownLevel4
Area TownLevel5
Area TownLevel6
Area TownLevel7
Area TownLevel8
Area TownLevel9
Area TownLevel10
Area TownLevelDestroyed

Dungeon AreaDungeonZealousCatacomb
Dungeon AreaDungeonBrutalCrypt
Dungeon AreaDungeonScowlingDen
Dungeon AreaDungeonTortureDungeon
Dungeon AreaDungeonHostileLabyrinth
Dungeon AreaDungeonSavageLair
Dungeon AreaDungeonMenaceMausoleum
Dungeon AreaDungeonFranticPit
Dungeon AreaDungeonVehementChambers
Dungeon AreaDungeonBleakMaze
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage
Dungeon AreaDungeonStorage

Dungeon AreaCaveCarniverousCave
Dungeon AreaCaveCrossCaverns
Dungeon AreaCaveViciousChambers
Dungeon AreaCaveCuasticGrotto
Dungeon AreaCaveHarrowingHole
Dungeon AreaCaveMalevolentMaze
Dungeon AreaCaveTormentTomb
Dungeon AreaCaveDireRealm
Dungeon AreaCaveBlackLabyrinth
Dungeon AreaCaveSullenCrypt
Dungeon AreaCaveForest
}

//
// Town
//





AreaDungeonStorage
{
Base BaseAreaCave

Name $$Dungeon Storage$$

AreaFileName Levels/dungeonStorage.ara
SoundFileName Levels/caveDireRealm.lsb

QuestItemName $$HellbenderEye$$

TextFile Stories/Zones/DireRealm.txt

DesiredMonsterSpawn ArchetypeDarkElfWarrior
DesiredMonsterSpawn ArchetypeDarkElfAssassin
DesiredMonsterSpawn ArchetypeDarkElfDarkPriest
DesiredMonsterSpawn ArchetypeDarkElfWizard

AmbientCreatureChance 0.0

// doprock, no deadends, more curves, wider hallways, less straight/X hallways, curvy in general
// secret - on curved hallways, double secrets
// details - torches
}

AreaCaveForest
{
Base BaseAreaCave

Name $$Underground Forest$$

AreaFileName Levels/caveForest.ara
SoundFileName Levels/caveDireRealm.lsb

QuestItemName $$HellbenderEye$$

TextFile Stories/Zones/DireRealm.txt

DesiredMonsterSpawn ArchetypeWisp
DesiredMonsterSpawn ArchetypeLeprechaun

AmbientCreatureChance 0.0

// doprock, no deadends, more curves, wider hallways, less straight/X hallways, curvy in general
// secret - on curved hallways, double secrets
// details - torches
}[/QUOTE]

joku
07-24-2014, 02:32 AM
You want to put them in Assets03, not Assets01. Assets03 overrides everything in Assets01, so all your changes are being overwritten.

Zambaku
07-24-2014, 12:06 PM
Ahh, I see. Hm, I put everything in assets03 instead but I still don't get the new dungeons. Hm, when I save a new dungeon, a folder gets created called "Levels" in the Assets folder. Maybe that's causing a problem, should I delete it?

Zambaku
07-24-2014, 02:05 PM
I really have no idea what else to do. I tried placing the edits in assets01, assets03, and even in both of them at the same time. I tried reinstalling the game and remaking everything, nothing seems to work. The game just dosn't find the new dungeon...Could it be that it needs a unique lsb too?

Zambaku
07-24-2014, 02:21 PM
Made progress. If I replaced the world.gdb in assets01, assets03 and AssetsZIPfix it worked.