PDA

View Full Version : Fire Mage Question

Arjun123
02-10-2011, 01:53 PM
I recently started playing a Reaver/Fire Mage hybrid, and it has been tremendous fun romping around, softening up foes from a distance with fireballs and then ravaging those that survive the initial explosions. But I am not sure that I am making full use of the Fire Mage class; I am basically only investing at this point in Fireball, Shield of Fire, Flame blade, and fire mastery (which also boosts the Reaver's Fire Strike). Eventually I'd also like to invest in Fire Elemental, but I was wondering if it is worthwhile investing in the other spells. I do not like cone attacks that aren't based on the default weapon damage (like Flame Strike), so I am not inclined toward Sweeping Flames. I am also wary of Fire Maelstrom, which doesn't seem as useful for a warrior/mage hybrid. Volcano sounds interesting, but I am not clear how it works. Can you use the cursor to cause the Volcano to appear wherever you wish? If so, that seems very useful! Any advice regarding the best use of this class for a warrior mage would be most appreciated.

DeathKnight1728
02-10-2011, 08:43 PM
What level are you? Once you reach 40 and up, enemies become much harder to face especially when playing a mage/warrior due to losing out on health gained. What i would suggest is terrorize as a helping skill. It not only lowers your opponents defense and attack, but you can stack it up to 4 times. What i do with both demonologist and reaver (since they both have skills like that), is i drop terrorize or w/e and then hit them with everyone while i am running. It works pretty well. As soon as one of them makes it through my defenses, i cast another terrorize on top of that one.