PDA

View Full Version : [cumulative] Topic for Q&A about modding UI and other aspects of DC


Evander
03-24-2011, 07:01 PM
I decided to start this topic, so that people could post questions about specific problems with modding, and receive answers here.

Hopefully it will grow into useful compendium over time.

Lets start with questions:

- many names use font 'SmallDefault'. This appears to be the smallest font I have seen so far, but it is too big.
Anyone knows if there is something like 'TinyDefault', a smaller font available? Or is there a way to make it NOT to scale with UI/not use it's bigger version?

- is there a way to use system fonts, like Arial instead?

- there is a window used to display logged text events, like completed quests and chat. Anyone knows which file is responsible for that?

- UseSlots - where you put skills/items on your hotbar has non-transparent black background. Any ideas how to modify that?

- Skill icons have golden outline around them. There does not seem to be any way to modify that. Any ideas?


Below is a template of what sort of fonts/graphic I would like to have in the end in mu gui mod ;)
http://img6.imageshack.us/i/shot00002mi.jpg/

=========================MODS===================== =============
UI mod by Heron (http://www.soldak.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2689&page=4)
Mellow UI by jeremyosborne (http://www.soldak.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3051)

forevernomad
03-25-2011, 07:01 AM
Great idea, guess I've got a few.

How do you add new stuff to the game, like items, textures and skills.

What console commands are available for us to use besides buildTgas?

What's the difference between an override and just using edited files from the system folders and how does that work?

Is it possible to make all clothing show up on characters?

Some torches/light sources are on by default all others switch off when they are unloaded, what is the flag for that?

Maledictus
03-25-2011, 01:47 PM
The (golden?) rims around the skill icons should moddable, what was it you wanted to do with them?

I wanted to remove the borders around the item description; there's another thread about that, but that doesn't mention the file name. Does anybody know which file holds the item (and item description) border? I just can't find it...

edit: found it.

Evander
03-25-2011, 03:11 PM
I want to replace this golder outline with silver one, and thin it a little, or remove it altogether.

BTW, I will, over time edit my first post to include all collected information in one place.



How do you add new stuff to the game, like items, textures and skills.

Answer to textures:
Being somewhat illiterate when it comes to drawing, I use 3 simple tools:
- IrfanView for it's color correction, negative, palette modification and effects
- TGATool2 - small tool to add and edit alpha channel to TGA
- window's paint :o I know it's crap, but I do per-pixel polishing and it is sufficient for me.

Adding textures to game can be done in two ways - either replacing existing ones, or adding totally new.

1.) Game will automatically convert any newer TGA to CTX if you place your tga in this folder: \Din's Curse\Assets\
It takes some time, as game checks if TGA are newer than CTX already present. It is also best to move TGA out of assets folder to some safe location once they are converted.

2.) New CTX will be placed in somewhat random location. To find out where exactly, press ~ in game. It will display info if the textures were properly converted and you should be able to find them on disk C:\
For win XP it is C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Dane aplikacji\DinsCurse\Assets\

3.) If you wish to replace textures already present, you must re-create a folder structure in \Din's Curse\Assets\ and place textures in their correct folder.
For example, \Din's Curse\Assets\Textures\ui\plus.ctx if you replaced that one

4.) If you wish to add new texture, then you need to edit a corresponding file
In case of this plus.ctx \Din's Curse\Assets\ui\*.mnu where mnu files represent GUI. If you would like to replace plus.ctx with plus2.ctx, you need to find all files where this texture is called and correct the entry.

5.) In both cases you should be able to create an Assets04.zip with your new textures. This file must reflect the game folders structure, so it is best to actually unpack Assets01.zip somewhere to see how it looks.

Technical note:
- both non-transparent and transparent TGA can be created.
- they must be of a correct size, that is 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, but they do not need to be square. A file 128x32 is allowed.
- an in-game variable "alpha" can be used to add transparency for textures. Values range from 0.0 to 1.0 (I think).

Maledictus
03-25-2011, 08:32 PM
Well, this is driving me insane. I've been searching in the files for a few hours now, but I can't figure out why some of the borders for the skill icons are yellow and some are not. In some MNU files color statements are used (for instance, for the active/passive skills) but that yellow border remains elusive. Any info would be much appreciated.

Evander
03-25-2011, 09:25 PM
don't look ;)

http://www.soldak.com/forums/showthread.php?p=23929#post23929

they are hard coded.

Caal
03-26-2011, 02:07 AM
There was a thread about 6 mos ago about modding of the UI and fonts. The author got rid of the gold borders and had a couple of font mods. The start of the thread is here:

http://www.soldak.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2689

Evander
03-26-2011, 12:05 PM
A particle study regarding game performance has shown, that there is a room for a particle artist to mod a lot of things.

below are two screenshots - first, with particle detail set to lowest, and later with particle detail set to highest.

On my radeon hd 3600 it is the difference of roughly 5 fps (!) between two screenshots.

There appear to be way too many snowflake-like particles emitted from my +casting gloves, +movement boots, a weapon and adrenaline effect.

I would like to set amount of these snowflakes emitted from weapon, boots and gloves and adrenaline to ZERO, as they all have another effects already present and I believe these are sufficient.

Any ideas where they are hidden?

http://img858.imageshack.us/img858/1504/particlefew.jpg (http://img858.imageshack.us/i/particlefew.jpg/)

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/3151/particlemany.jpg (http://img26.imageshack.us/i/particlemany.jpg/)

Shadow
04-01-2011, 04:52 PM
Ok, let me try to answer all of the outstanding questions.

SmallDefault is the smallest font in the game and you can't tell it to not scale.

You can't use system fonts directly, but if you have windows there is a tool in the sdk that will convert fonts to the format that the game uses.

The event window is mostly controlled by code, although there are user vars to change the max number of events to display at once.

There are a lot of console commands available in general. I'm not sure how many of them are useful to you guys. The console does have command completion. Just open the console and start hitting tab and it will show you command names.

Override makes it much less likely to conflict with a future patch or someone else's mod. For example if you just edit systems.gdb, the next time I do a patch and update the version number in systems.gdb it is still going to be using your changes and there will be a version mismatch at least.

forevernomad: What do you mean by all clothing? If you mean can you make a ring show up no. There's isn't a separate surface to display it on. If you mean sometimes new gloves look like the old gloves, it is possible. There would need to be new textures and the item entries would need to point to the new textures.

Torches are defined in objects.gdb. There is a parm called StartOffChance that controls that. Of course there are many ways that they can be turned off (wind, rain, imps, etc).

Tracking down the effects for something like casting gloves takes a bit of effort. In general these are defined in systems.gdb. Search for ItemEffectItemSlot. Find the entry you want. The ItemEffectStatusEffect line will tell you which entry to look for in statusEffects.gdb. That will tell you the model name and the model name will specify the effect name. In the effect file you could change the spawn rate or whatever you wanted to.