PDA

View Full Version : More zoom?


QBob
05-25-2017, 08:05 PM
Would love to be able to zoom out more to be able to see more of the area. Prolly has some play balance implications b/c ranged characters can shoot farther.

Shadow
05-26-2017, 11:16 AM
You can change zoomMax in default.cfg.

QBob
05-26-2017, 04:37 PM
Even better! Thanks again! I'm loving the game, but I'm loving the tech support here every bit as much :-)

( Tchey )
05-26-2017, 05:48 PM
Hi,

I tried to change some setting, but it seems ingame it's not effective.

I suppose it's related to these numbers, so i changed them at random several times "just to see".


r_fov 85.0 Save
r_viewCloseDist 400.0 Save
r_viewCloseZ 0.7 Save
r_viewFarDist 1700.0 Save
r_viewFarZ 2.4 Save

r_drawTiles 1
r_CullTiles 2

r_windowPosX 0 Save
r_windowPosY 0 Save

r_firstTime 1 Save

r_postponeTextureUpload 1 Save
r_desktopFullscreen 0 Save VidRestart
r_fog 1 Save
r_fogHardware 0

r_useVbos 1 Save

r_checkGlErrors 1 Save

monitorSync 1 Save
zoom 4.5 Save
zoomMin 0.01
zoomMax 8.5
showSkel 0
showTags 0
drawModel 1
maxFps 45 Save


The default file was like this :


r_fov 60.0 Save
r_viewCloseDist 400.0 Save
r_viewCloseZ 0.7 Save
r_viewFarDist 700.0 Save
r_viewFarZ 1.4 Save

r_drawTiles 1
r_CullTiles 2

r_windowPosX 0 Save
r_windowPosY 0 Save

r_firstTime 1 Save

r_postponeTextureUpload 1 Save
r_desktopFullscreen 0 Save VidRestart
r_fog 1 Save
r_fogHardware 0

r_useVbos 1 Save

r_checkGlErrors 1 Save

monitorSync 1 Save
zoom 1.3 Save
zoomMin 0.4
zoomMax 1.3
showSkel 0
showTags 0
drawModel 1
maxFps 0 Save


What am i doing wrong ?

Thanks

QBob
05-26-2017, 06:32 PM
I'm not at a good place to test this, myself, but maybe the game's using another copy of that cfg file? Maybe somewhere in your documents/data folder?

Maybe one of the numbers your tried is strange enough for the game to stop reading the config and use defaults?

This game's written for Windows and Linux; any chance the line endings were changed when you saved the file?

Shadow
05-26-2017, 06:48 PM
It's been a while since I changed anything with any of these. :) Looks like changing the zoom stuff isn't very useful. You can increase r_viewFarDist a little to get more zoom though.