PDA

View Full Version : How to save mods

Kael
05-24-2011, 12:01 AM
Hi I am new to modding and cannot figure out how to make my mods actually work. I have gone into the assets folder and into assets 3, which is most up to date since I don't have the expansion. When I mod stuff in database, like classes.gdb, and save the text file it saves fine but the actual changes have not kicked in. What am I doing wrong?

Bluddy
05-24-2011, 03:30 AM
Hi I am new to modding and cannot figure out how to make my mods actually work. I have gone into the assets folder and into assets 3, which is most up to date since I don't have the expansion. When I mod stuff in database, like classes.gdb, and save the text file it saves fine but the actual changes have not kicked in. What am I doing wrong?

You don't want to change anything in assets03.zip. Just create a Din's Curse/Assets/Database directory and copy classes.gdb in there. Then modify to your heart's content.

Kael
05-24-2011, 12:17 PM
Doesn't that mean that I would have to do the overwrite command? I don't really undestand how to use that

Bluddy
05-24-2011, 12:34 PM
Doesn't that mean that I would have to do the overwrite command? I don't really undestand how to use that

You have 2 options, although they don't both work in all cases.

1. Copy a file from assets03.zip and place it exactly in the directory in which it's supposed to go. So if the file was in Database/monsters, you have to recreate Din's Curse/Assets/Database/monsters and place the file in there. What'll happen is that DC will look for the loose version of the file (not in a zip) and take that file INSTEAD of the file inside assets03.zip. You can also zip up the file in another zip file, and so long as the file is alphabetically higher than assets03.zip (for example, assets04.zip or assetsMod.zip) it'll load first which means your modded file will be used.