PDA

View Full Version : Blocking

TGS
06-13-2011, 12:01 PM
I was just playing a Level 4 rogue I started just at random and I noticed he kept blocking hits... even though he has no shield. In fact he simply had a single dagger.

How do the block mechanics work and is it normal for a character without a shield to be able to block?

It really doesn't seem right that characters without shields can block as it kinda detracts away from using shields. In other games the whole point of using a shield isn't just as an additional "stat" item but primarily to open up the ability to block as a additional form of mitigation.

Shadow
06-13-2011, 01:24 PM
Everyone has a little block capability. If you had a shield your chances of blocking would go up a lot.

TGS
06-13-2011, 01:32 PM
Everyone has a little block capability. If you had a shield your chances of blocking would go up a lot.

Well I am fairly new to the game... but wouldn't it make sense not to have any block ability if you don't actually have a shield? After all "blocking" without a shield is parrying which appears to also be on the attack table.

Shadow
06-13-2011, 01:40 PM
Well I am fairly new to the game... but wouldn't it make sense not to have any block ability if you don't actually have a shield? After all "blocking" without a shield is parrying which appears to also be on the attack table.

Yes it would make more sense. :)

TGS
06-13-2011, 01:47 PM
Yes it would make more sense. :)

I don't wanna be an ass about it but perhaps it would be an idea to remove the block when a shield is not equipped and increase the parry or one of the other avoidance stats to compensate?

I have to say I love the game though and the fact that you have an attack table system is awesome, but yeah... blocking without a shield just makes my brain hurt lol. Possibly because I think to myself what am I blocking with? Maybe I'm blocking with my head?

Antigrav
06-13-2011, 04:17 PM