PDA

View Full Version : Perspective and Advanced Shadows


fab
05-14-2012, 05:45 PM
Hi Shadow,

Is it possible through the data files to change the darkness of the Advanced Shadows? I'd like to keep them on but they are a bit sharp, so I would like to increase the transparency.

Secondly, is it possible to adapt the field of view and camera distance of the perspective mode? I also wish I'd play with this one but it's too close compared to the old 2D view. I would like to tweak the FOV and distance.

Shadow
05-14-2012, 08:04 PM
For the shadow thing you would want to modify the alpha value in the ProjectedShadowTransparent entry in Shaders/system.sdr

As for the view you can play around with the user vars (either using the console or the config files):
r_viewCloseDist - default 400.0
r_viewCloseZ - 0.7
r_viewFarDist - 700.0
r_viewFarZ - 1.4

fab
05-15-2012, 01:32 AM
Wow, thanks again :)

fab
05-15-2012, 01:01 PM
It seems that the mouse coordinates are not interpreted in the same way if not using the default perspective view. I get the popup message "Path blocked". If I zoom in, I can walk. If I zoom out "Path blocked".

Seems to happen around a green bush model in Zanely Downs.

These are the settings I used:

r_viewCloseDist 400
r_viewCloseZ 1
r_viewFarDist 900
r_viewFarZ 1.6


I noticed also monsters sometimes seem to get stuck (before I played with the perspective) which may be a related bug. Like if they have no direct line of sight they stop running after you.

fab
05-16-2012, 07:55 AM
Okay the perspective mode is not really working out for me, I was getting comfortable with it unfortunately it doesn't seem to run as well as in Dins Curse for some reason, it's a bit too slow on my 2010 MacbookPro which I'll be using for a few days.

However without perspective the Advanced Shadows do add a lot of depths to the outdoors!

Shadow
05-17-2012, 10:51 AM
It seems that the mouse coordinates are not interpreted in the same way if not using the default perspective view. I get the popup message "Path blocked". If I zoom in, I can walk. If I zoom out "Path blocked".

I'll have to check out those values the next time I get a chance.

fab
05-17-2012, 05:59 PM
Hi Shadow,

Actually now I'm using default settings with just FarDist increased and had the same issue in desert. "Path blocked" happened also near some kind of bush in Low Desert. Playing fullscreen 1280x800 on the Macbook Pro with nVidia 9400M.

r_viewCloseDist 400
r_viewCloseZ 0.7
r_viewFarDist 900
r_viewFarZ 1.4

Shadow
05-17-2012, 06:47 PM
Oh, it just occurred to me that the pathfinding can only go so far. It is possible that you are clicking outside of its range.

fab
05-18-2012, 01:00 PM
No, when the character is stuck I click many times around it, but only zooming in with the wheel or teleporting out and back in gets it unstuck.

Actually now I'm playing with viewFarDist 750 or so.

I realize you're busy with Drox. I'm just mentioning this in case of a hypothetical minor bugfix update in a hypothetical future.

Also it's happening with tweaked settings therefore it may not be considered a bug for the standard game.

Honestly if you were to put up a minor update the only thing that I find really annoying is that the Recruit window can not be toggled on and off with the keyboard like the character and other windows do. For some reason you must click on the little close button to remove it. I can live without though :)

fab
05-20-2012, 06:57 AM
A somewhat (possibly?) related issue:

I have noticed quite a few times now since using perspective mode the message

"<name> wandering recruit has died"

Each time I have no idea where they are and don't see a spot on the mini map.

Could it be that the wandering recruit enters in range of the old mode, but in perspective they are not seen? (I'm just making a wild guess, only I don't remember having that problem before).

PS: I'm using r_viewFarDist 750, the rest is defaults, no mods.

Shadow
05-21-2012, 10:08 AM
It shouldn't matter (at least not directly). There isn't much that relates to the viewing parameters.