PDA

View Full Version : Difficulty, Menus and Color

RoboAV
06-25-2012, 02:51 PM
I'm going to do a lot of complaining here. However, I've been playing Drox constantly for the last two weeks and I am loving it.

I have 2 ships up to levels 16-17 where progress has mainly stalled. First off, I will admit that I am not very good at this game. I'm not a keyboard gamer and consequently have to search around for the controls needed. I completed the first sector with each ship and then abandoned several more for a variety of reasons. I hit a moment where I died and all of my crew- 4 uncommon or rare Drakk's that had my stats pumped up quite a lot- blown to bits. I have since found, through browsing the forums, that dead crew can be revived. Doh. Too late, the bodies have been spaced. But, at that moment, I was faced with going back to a game where I already felt overwhelmed, with my stats significantly lowered and consequently lesser components.

I abandoned the sector and started another on an 'easier' setting. It's a game, let me have some fun instead of the frustration I was up against. The result? Yes, the game was easier. However, I'm getting extremely low experience for kills and quests. Component drops are levels below where my ship's stats are. So, I can have an easier game, sure, but effectively denied any progress through the game. If denied is a harsh way to put it, then adding quicksand to the already glacially slow pace I was moving at, then. All you're letting me do is trade one frustration for another and that is not a valid choice.

If you're going to give me a choice for an 'easy' game, set the drops and exp to my ship level. Don't punish me for sucking at the game any more than sucking already, well, sucks. For anyone that counters with the argument that people with elite skills should be rewarded, the mechanism for bumping difficulty up is already there. Otherwise, give yourself a pat on the back.