PDA

View Full Version : Playing games with with your SO

Shadow
03-04-2008, 10:40 AM
I'm kind of curious how many other gamers are like me and like to play games with their significant other. Delilah and I really like to play games together, but haven't really had many opportunities lately. You would think this would be easy, but the big catch is that we don't really enjoy competing against each other so that rules out most multiplayer games.

Why don't we compete against each other? I create games for a living and play way more games, so I'm usually better at them. So it's no fun for either of us if we are competing directly.

So anyways, we have played a lot of games co-op (Diablo, Star Wars Lego, etc.). Some singleplayer games we have played together by switching back and forth who is actively playing (Zelda). We have even gone as far as starting games, saving instantly, and transferring the saved game to the other person's computer so we could play in the same game (Civ games).

So back to my questions. Anyone else out there that plays games with their significant other? Anyone play primarily co-op with their SO? And finally anyone else go through so much trouble to do it?

ShaggyMoose
03-04-2008, 11:52 AM
Never really done this. None of my girlfriends are ever really interested in gaming. My current SO actually watched me play DoP for two minutes and then said "how can that possibly be fun" before walking off... Another used to play the Sims, but I would rather eat broken glass and wash it down with battery acid than play that game. Also, I tend to use gaming as "me" time.

I know a lot of people (indirectly) that MMORPG together though.

SamMcMackin
03-04-2008, 03:53 PM
My wife and I play Trickster Online together. Before that we played Doom 3 and Fear. She loves a scary fps!

Taleana
03-04-2008, 08:42 PM
Ok, seriously, are you prepared to sit here and read a novel in response to your post, Shadow? :D I've been waiting for this question to come up.