PDA

View Full Version : How easy is it to mod DoP?

GeorgiaBoy
04-29-2008, 02:54 PM
I am an amateur modder looking to purchase a game which is easy to mod. My graphics knowledge is limited. I can import .bmp, .gif, .tga files--3D stuff--no dice. I would like to edit .txt files if possible. Editing .xml files can be tedious for me due to formatting (maybe there is a .xml to .txt conversion tool...). So, given this background, would Depths of Peril be easy to mod?

Thanks for your time,

GB

Shadow
04-29-2008, 04:56 PM
Well I think it's pretty easy to mod, but I'm kind of biased. There is no xml so you don't have to worry about that. Pretty much anything that makes sense to do so are plain text files. There is an sdk that contains a few extra tools and documents how a lot of the stuff works also.

Usually you wouldn't have to do anything 3d unless you are making new models.

Oh, I also answered your other questions in the other thread.

Welcome to the forums GeorgiaBoy.

GeorgiaBoy
04-29-2008, 11:44 PM
Thanks for the quick reply, Shadow. I looked at the map editor. I have a intel dual core t7500 cpu (vista) with a NVidia 8600M GS (laptop video). The objects on the right of the screen look like some are cut off. The map is displayed, but only the bottom half...Is there anything I can do besides deinstall Vista (which I have been DYING to do)?

GB

P.S. I spread the word amongst my D2 playing fans about DoP.:)

Shadow
04-30-2008, 10:18 PM
Can you post a screenshot so I know exactly what it is doing?

GeorgiaBoy
04-30-2008, 11:56 PM
Screenshot attached...

Thanks again,

GB

Shadow
05-01-2008, 02:04 PM
Ok, I know what is going on. It's a bit hard to tell because the editor has a black background and so does the console. The top is cut off because the console is still up. Hit the ~ key again and the console will go away and then you should have an unobstructed view of the editor.

GeorgiaBoy
05-01-2008, 08:10 PM
Hi Shadow,