PDA

View Full Version : High CPU Usage in Mac Version


Nitrox
06-29-2008, 08:43 PM
Greetings, I just purchased the Mac version and notice that the game is utilizing 100% CPU a good portion of time. So much so, that the laptop case above the keyboard gets almost too hot to touch.

This is on a Macbook Pro 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo.

I love the game but I'm concerned with long term play and the health of my hardware.

-Dave

Paladin Sponge
06-29-2008, 10:24 PM
Weird. I'm playing it on a regular macbook and I haven't had that problem. The heat, I mean. I infer that means the game isn't working my machine too hard.

If you can tell me how to find out the CPU usage while playing, I'll gladly lend my observations to your thread.

(name here)
06-30-2008, 09:39 AM
well, Windows has the task manager's proccesses mode. i have never used a recent mac, so i have no idea what to do on them.

Shadow
06-30-2008, 01:41 PM
I'm also curious how to find out how to see the CPU usage on the Mac.

Do games not usually use near 100% of the CPU on your machine? In my experience, games tend to use everything they can get to maximize the frame rate.

(name here)
06-30-2008, 05:39 PM
In my experiance, a functional game burns somthing like 60% of CPU. a game which malfunctions will steal all the CPU to try to continue working.

Nitrox
06-30-2008, 10:32 PM
CPU usage and other stats can be viewed with the Activity Monitor utility which is found in the Applications->Utilities folder.

Typically I would expect a game to only hit %100 when numerous, intensive, graphical events are occurring simultaneously. For example, if you're familiar with Everquest, %100 CPU usage (and subsequently video lag) would occur during raids when multiple casters would trigger spells that had large visual effects associated with them.

I've included a screen shot of Activity Monitor while the game is running but minimized. The capture was taken only about minute after launching the game and my party is just standing around in the covenant house. You'll see the game is already consuming %100.4 CPU (more than an entire core of my dual core system).

-Dave

http://www.pingtrip.com/files/images/screen_cap.png

(name here)
06-30-2008, 10:52 PM
that is pretty extreme. i have no idea where that would come from.

Paladin Sponge
07-01-2008, 06:55 AM
Strange. I just started up a game with everybody just standing around the covenant house. Minimized it and looked at the activity monitor. CPU usage was around 10% or so, 90% idle.

Shadow
07-01-2008, 01:35 PM
Thanks for pointing out the Activity Monitor.

I would guess that Everquest gobbles up as much cpu as it can also, but it probably can run as fast as the monitor will let it. Which means the cpu will be idle waiting for the monitor's refresh time.

DoP is much more CPU intensive than Everquest. Anything I add would just slow down the frame rate. Although if you are getting enough frame rate for your tastes, that might not be a bad thing. I might add in a max frame rate variable that is optional.

Oh, also the game running at full speed when minimized is not intended. I'll have to fix that. I do have it when you play in a window and the DoP window doesn't have focus it uses less cpu. On my Mac it goes from around 100% to around 66% when I do this.

Nitrox
07-01-2008, 05:25 PM
Strange. I just started up a game with everybody just standing around the covenant house. Minimized it and looked at the activity monitor. CPU usage was around 10% or so, 90% idle.

Interesting! Now I just need to determine what's different between our two systems.

Are you using the Window->Minimize menu so that a small icon of the running game appears on the far right of your dock?

Are you running Leopard with all the latest updates?

-Dave

Nitrox
07-01-2008, 05:38 PM
I would guess that Everquest gobbles up as much cpu as it can also, but it probably can run as fast as the monitor will let it. Which means the cpu will be idle waiting for the monitor's refresh time.


Agreed, but not for every second of runtime. Typically I see %100 CPU usage when an application has a tight "event" loop that doesn't allow the "scheduler" (depending on platform) a sufficient slice of inactivity. I've seen the addition of a simple sleep call (for as little as a tenth of a second) dramatically reduce the amount of reported CPU utilization, without negatively impacting game play.

I would be happy to test out a "MaxFrameRate" setting if you do end up throwing together a beta"!

-Dave

Paladin Sponge
07-01-2008, 11:34 PM
Yep. Mac OS X v. 10.5.3

Minimized using [Command] + M keys. It puts an icon down in the same place safari goes when I minimize that.

I'm new to macs, so I don't know how to take screenshots, but it basically looks just like the pic you posted. Kinda weird, your machine has a little more oomph than mine, methinks. Other than that, it's just got the basic programs on it than come with OS X, so there's not much out of standard running along with DoP. Nor am I closing down processes.

*shrug*

If I can provide you any more information on my system to help figure out what's going on, lemme know.

Delve
07-02-2008, 10:40 AM
Does your 'regular macbook' have a dual core? Or is it a single processor?

Paladin Sponge
07-02-2008, 10:16 PM
Dual core intel, 2.1 ghz

Basically, if you go to the apple page and click on the cheapest macbook they sell, this is it =D 1 gig ram, SATA HD, no video card, no soundcard, and on and on. Got it two months ago.

sss4r
07-17-2008, 02:08 PM
Greetings, I just purchased the Mac version and notice that the game is utilizing 100% CPU a good portion of time. So much so, that the laptop case above the keyboard gets almost too hot to touch.

This is on a Macbook Pro 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo.

I love the game but I'm concerned with long term play and the health of my hardware.

-Dave

Hi, Dave,

I've played DoP on a MacBook Pro, a dual G5 Power Mac, and an Intel-based iMac. I had a similar experience on the notebook -- fans that normally run at 2K RPM were reaching 6K RPM! & I was literally sweating just sitting in front of it. However, according to iStat Pro, the GPU diode was approaching 160*F. It wasn't the CPU but the GPU that was causing the heating issue. Unfortunately it seems to be a pretty common phenomenon with gaming on laptops. I lowered the samples and filtering in Graphics prefs and that helped some.

Best,
Shannon

Shadow
07-17-2008, 04:22 PM
The next version of the game (Win & Mac) will have a maxFps console command that might actually help this.

Crisses
08-02-2012, 08:52 PM
Thanks -- by the way I have a console msg saying (in red):
Couldn't find Effects/lightWhite.eff