Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Drox Operative > Drox Operative game
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2012, 12:09 AM
graffen69 graffen69 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 122
Default Can you lose with winning conditions fulfilled?

I came very close to loosing a game where i had 100 relationship with the last race (dryad) due to time out and no winning sign popping up until the very last minute when they sent me a gift. Is this intentional? Can you lose with winning conditions fulfilled?

I remember winning before but at that time the losing timeout never popped up. As soon as i destroyed the second to last race (and had 80+ relation with the other race) i got a winning sign immediately.

Last edited by graffen69 : 08-06-2012 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2012, 07:33 AM
sbach2o sbach2o is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by graffen69 View Post
I came very close to loosing a game where i had 100 relationship with the last race (dryad) due to time out and no winning sign popping up until the very last minute when they sent me a gift. Is this intentional? Can you lose with winning conditions fulfilled?

I remember winning before but at that time the loosing timeout never popped up. As soon as i destroyed the second to last race (and had 80+ relation with the other race) i got a winning sign immediately.
When there's just one race left, you need to be allied with them to actually win. When you are at a relationship of 100, this is just a formality, because they will accept a proposal of alliance right away. But this proposal must be made or the timer for losing the sector will tick on.

Thinks get 'interesting' when you relationship with the last remaining race is below 80. Then you'll have to buy the alliance or work on improving that relationship in the remaining time. If there are no/few remaining quests, or you're poor or they're rich (yes, the cost to buy into an alliance depends heavily on their wealth!) this can be hard.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2012, 02:13 PM
graffen69 graffen69 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 122
Default

Yup, i had max (100) relation with them, was ally long before i killed last enemy race. Still i came very close to loosing which made me puzzled.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2012, 03:52 AM
sbach2o sbach2o is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by graffen69 View Post
Yup, i had max (100) relation with them, was ally long before i killed last enemy race. Still i came very close to loosing which made me puzzled.
If you were allied, and they definitely were the last race left, there's some bug. Or they wern't actually the last race (some race you didn't know about still being hidden somewhere). But in that case, the lose-time shouldn't tick.

So I am at a loss. I certainly haven't encountered such a situation in my own play.

Edit: A possibility I can think of:

Your were once allied with them, thought you still were at the end, but the alliance had been cancelled at some time without you becoming aware of this. This can happen in various ways, including clicking the wrong button in responce to one of the frequent demands to 'terminate treaty with race...' or 'declare war on race...' which some races like to spam, particularly when they're already at war with you and close to extinction.

When you got the victory at the end, it was because the monetary gift from the race lifted you over the limit for the economic victory.

Last edited by sbach2o : 08-07-2012 at 04:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2012, 06:45 PM
graffen69 graffen69 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbach2o View Post
If you were allied, and they definitely were the last race left, there's some bug.
Thatīs what iīm thinking too.
I had been playing that world for hours upon hours and was tripple checking everything i had made to make sure i didnīt bring it upon myself. One possible explanation would be that the game isnīt programmed for winning conditions when the relation is at 100+. At the time the gift was sent, close to time-out, my relation was around 98 - 99 which then triggered the auto victory condition.

Last edited by graffen69 : 08-08-2012 at 11:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2012, 01:30 PM
sbach2o sbach2o is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 48
Default

There is another possible explanation which has come to my mind:

You may have run afoul of one of new conditions for losing a sector which have been introduced in version .913: The economic loss.

I think it requires you to go into the red financially by a certain amount. How exactly this 'going into the red' is counted, I do not know. But it probably counts only money lost or accumulated while playing the sector at hand, and the main way to actually lose money should consist in getting fined 'virtual' resurrection fees after dying (maybe failed quests also count in some way?). Those fees are 'virtual' in the sense that they aren't actually deducted from you bank account, but only appear in that economic sector balance.

Well, to hit that loss condition would mean that you must've had .913 installed and either died a lot while playing the sector or maybe failed a lot of missions. Another condition would be that this loss condition takes precedence over the military victory condition which you met at the same time.

At the end, receiving the gift which saved you lifted you out of that predicament and made you eligible for winning the sector.

This is a lot of speculation, though. I haven't myself seen this sector loss condition at work, yet. Note, there is now a new 'lose'-button besides the 'win'-button in the UI (somewhat easy to overlook). There you should be able to see what's afoot when the lose-timer is counting down.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2012, 03:04 PM
Moonshine Fox Moonshine Fox is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 122
Default

Also, do mind that you actually have to go through Non-Agression Pact -> Mutual Protection Pact -> Alliance to actually be allied with a race. It's not enough to simply have the required relation levels.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2012, 03:37 PM
PixelLord's Avatar
PixelLord PixelLord is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonshine Fox View Post
Also, do mind that you actually have to go through Non-Agression Pact -> Mutual Protection Pact -> Alliance to actually be allied with a race. It's not enough to simply have the required relation levels.
I never noticed that. I always took that progression anyway, though, because each earlier treaty gave me more +relations with said race, which made progress toward getting enough relations to get the next treaty.
__________________
Stephen A. Hornback
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-29-2012, 03:39 PM
Moonshine Fox Moonshine Fox is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PixelLord View Post
I never noticed that. I always took that progression though because each earlier treaty gave me more +relations with said race, which made progress for getting enough relations to get the next treaty.
Ah well, I guess you can go from nothing to Alliance instantly, but you still have to go through the Negotiations screen, or get an Alliance offered from the race. What I was trying to say was that it's not enough just having good relations. You have to have "sealed the deal" too.

Man, I'm just failing at communications today.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-29-2012, 03:48 PM
PixelLord's Avatar
PixelLord PixelLord is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonshine Fox View Post
Ah well, I guess you can go from nothing to Alliance instantly, but you still have to go through the Negotiations screen, or get an Alliance offered from the race. What I was trying to say was that it's not enough just having good relations. You have to have "sealed the deal" too.

Man, I'm just failing at communications today.
What are you doing; just trolling again? Just kidding - I was reading the cargo bay thread.
__________________
Stephen A. Hornback
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ 2007 - 2022 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.