Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Drox Operative > Drox Operative game
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-15-2013, 12:41 PM
Tyrax Lightning's Avatar
Tyrax Lightning Tyrax Lightning is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: WA
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
I think about it from time to time. The question is mostly how do I do it interface wise?
Maybe set it up in a Macro kinda way?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-15-2013, 03:17 PM
lancefighter lancefighter is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Silly thoughts on interface things.

Would it be possible to set up checkboxes under/in the boxes that show modules? (or maybe in settings somewhere).
These checkboxes could be the things chosen to activate when you use the alpha strike key/fakemodule?

alternatively, I thought about just having a repeat toggle somewhere. this way all you would need to do is target a new enemy and everything would begin shooting again, without needing to mash your hand across the keyboard.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-16-2013, 01:48 AM
Nayzablade Nayzablade is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrax Lightning View Post
Maybe set it up in a Macro kinda way?
A macro system would be great!

something like this:
/use "beam"
/use "tractor beam"
/use "missile"

Item name to be inserted into inverted commas.

You could limit the macro to just one button on the interface or have multiple buttons. One of the best in game macro system I have seen in a game is Vanguard: Saga of Heroes.

Might be a bit of work to implement though for poor shadow, hehe.

This would let the player create there own alpha strike ability though.

Regards,
Nayzablade
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-16-2013, 02:20 PM
Tuidjy's Avatar
Tuidjy Tuidjy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: La La Land (California)
Posts: 847
Default

So, what is the problem with having an option 'Fire all right click slotted weapons at once"?

We already have the array of weapons that can be assigned to the right click. Have an option toggling whether a right click fires the selected one, or all at once. Also have the option to assign a keyboard shortcut to 'fire all weapons in the right click column'.

This will be enough to design your own 'Alpha strike' (by assigning all weapons to the right mouse click) or to set up a one-two punch (by having the left mouse fire the immobilizer/debuffer, and the right mouse the damage dealers)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-16-2013, 05:23 PM
lancefighter lancefighter is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Default

unless im mistaken, you can still only fit three things on the right click menu.. However, it would probably work well though, if that was expanded.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-17-2013, 04:32 AM
colfirefly colfirefly is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Lightbulb Interface suggestion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
I think about it from time to time. The question is mostly how do I do it interface wise?
Another page on the character sheet.

You have a weapons/module group icon with 5 (just a number) empty boxes alongside it. You can drag modules from your ship loadout to place in the boxes. You can then drag the module group icon into the hotbar. When you fire the group it sends a command to fire all the attached weapons/modules.

Make as many groups as you want. I'd suggest at least 3 though.

Also, right-click hotbar to toggle autofire a la Warcraft.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-25-2013, 10:27 AM
Dio Dio is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuidjy View Post
So, what is the problem with having an option 'Fire all right click slotted weapons at once"?

We already have the array of weapons that can be assigned to the right click. Have an option toggling whether a right click fires the selected one, or all at once. Also have the option to assign a keyboard shortcut to 'fire all weapons in the right click column'.

This will be enough to design your own 'Alpha strike' (by assigning all weapons to the right mouse click) or to set up a one-two punch (by having the left mouse fire the immobilizer/debuffer, and the right mouse the damage dealers)
This seems to most plausible to me.... but I am new... also, I think having it limited to 3 at a time does make sense... that way you still have to think some for serious combat, and then deciding what to use there would also be a consideration... I think this would foster new alpha strike setup discussions as well as add a new feature in one swoop...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-28-2013, 09:29 AM
Gilgamesh Gilgamesh is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 29
Default

It would be useful to group some weapons together, more so than just firing everything, I think. Mines don't need to be fired with a group of beams, for example. But that may be just me.

Some of the posts make me wonder how many weapons you are lugging around with you, though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2023 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.